Return to the archive index

Re: Gizmondo hack?

From: Roland Orre <>
Date: Fri, 25 Mar 2005 11:38:28 +0100

On Fri, 2005-03-25 at 05:45, Tyler Mitchell wrote:
> Anyone hear of folks hacking this handheld?
> http://www.gizmondo.com

I started checking out their site, but when clicking on one of their
links, about music, I got the the message cited below, i.e. I won't
have anything to do with a site which is promoting Microsoft in that
way, with unnessecary tests in their web scripts. I wrote the following
message to them:
----------------------------
Dear Dr Download,
I was checking out the www.gizmondo.com site and there was a link
to http://www.gizmondomusic.com/ which was redirected to
http://sib1.od2.com/common/configerror.asp?shop=60&associd=2&problem=not_ie

There I've met by the following message:
" The site you have tried to enter requires Internet Explorer 6 (or
better) with Windows Media Player 7 (or better) on Windows XP, 2000, Me
or 98. Click Here to use our Doctor Download application to help you
check your configuration alternatively Email Dr Download."

I'm not using Internet Explorer, I don't want to use Internet Explorer,
further on Internet Explorer is only available for MS Windows and
possibly Mac OS. 
Why should you, with a bad test in your web-scripts like this,
exclude all people not running Internet Explorer, Media Player,
Windows etc.

I don't consider this your approach to be a serious one. Sites
behaving like this are harming themselves. I recommend you to
clean up your site.

        Best regards
        Roland Orre
        Chairman, PhD, NeuroLogic Sweden AB

_______________________________________________
Wear-Hard mailing list

http://www.haven.org/mailman/listinfo/wear-hard

+Previous Message in Thread | Next Message in Thread

From Wear-Hard Mailing list Archive (WH)
Maintained by R. Paul McCarty

Archive created with babymail